It isn't uncommon to be charged with both Reckless Driving and a DUI in Virginia. However with Reckless Driving General you cannot be convicted of both.
In Virginia, Driving Under the Influence is a serious driving offense. Whether charged as Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) anyone suspected of the offense could have their breath or blood tested for impairment. A blood alcohol level of .08% creates a presumption of intoxication which can result in a conviction if not rebutted in court.
DUI / DWI is a Class 1 misdemeanor crime in Virginia. The maximum punishment may include twelve months in jail, a $2,500 fine and a twelve month suspension of your driving privileges. Under some circumstances mandatory minimum jail sentences apply and repeat offenders face stiffer penalties.
Alcohol related offenses have become a primary focus of law enforcement throughout the Hampton Roads area of Virginia. Sobriety checkpoints and increased patrols near restaurants and bars are not uncommon in the region, especially in the City of Virginia Beach. A DUI conviction can remain on your driving record for up to eleven years and tarnish your criminal record indefinitely. In addition to increased insurance rates, a conviction may impact security clearances, job opportunities or even current employment.
At Hobbs & Harrison, our attorneys are dedicated to providing candid legal advice and superior representation. Our attorneys include a former Virginia prosecutor, and with over twenty years of combined trial experience we have a exceptional record of results. If the Commonwealth fails to carry its burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt a DUI charge can be dismissed and our attorneys have the experience and the skills to push for that result. If you're charged with a DUI / DWI in Virginia, you don't have to face it alone. We can be there to help.
Criminal Defense Attorney in Hampton Roads DUI Attorney Traffic Reckless Driving Speeding Suspended license
In Virginia, Reckless Driving isn't just driving in such a manner as to endanger life, limb or property. In addition to Reckless Driving General there are several other statutes in Virginia which describe the offense. One of the the most commonly charged is speeding twenty miles per hour over the limit or driving above eighty miles per hour regardless of the speed limit.
Reckless Driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor crime which is the same classification as a DUI charge. The maximum punishment may include twelve months in jail, a $2,500 fine and up to a six-month suspension of your driving privileges.
While in reality most cases of Reckless Driving result in far less than the maximum punishment, the offense nevertheless carries six (6) demerit points. A conviction can remain on your driving record for up to eleven years and remain on your criminal record indefinitely. In addition to increased insurance rates, a conviction may affect security clearances, job advancements or future employment opportunities.
At Hobbs & Harrison, each of our attorneys has over a decade of trial experience handling Reckless Driving matters. They will take the time necessary to fully understand the facts of your case so they can focus on achieving the best possible outcome in court. Depending upon the facts, a Reckless charge could be reduced or even dismissed. If you find yourself facing a Reckless Driving ticket in Virginia, we're here to help.